Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Brownies

Image

Hello lovies. New approach on today’s post. Allow me to start off by saying I’ve always enjoyed cooking and baking. I picked up techniques from being my father’s assistant chef for Sunday afternoon dinners. My dad is a working man who spends most of his time in his accounting firm, so on Sundays we would spend the majority of the day preparing a grand meal for the family. By the time I was twelve, I gathered enough insight to put together a baked pineapple ham with all the trimmings all by myself. Prior to this, my Nana introduced baking to me. Brownies. My first dessert I ever learned to make. Nothing like long afternoons at your grandparents house baking and sharing a chocolate treat, aye? I started to expand on my baking skills. Pops and I even took a cake decorating class to compensate for a lack of bonding time. Needless to say, I’ve come a long way from baking brownies. My classmates have taken note to this as well. Thus, when my friend Greg asked me to bake a batch of brownies with chocolate chip cookies, I couldn’t say no. Why not? I’ve never made such a concoction before. (Plus, it was his birthday and I’ve been promising him for months.) To be rather honest, this made me excited. 

Image

At first, I wasn’t too sure how this would turn out.Wrapping my head around how the cookie dough layer could stick to the brownie layer was hard. However, in the end- it made sense. Please take not that I normally bake everything from scratch, however, with midterms and other factors, I decided to cheat with a few parts. That stays between you and me. 🙂 Therefore, if you want to use your own recipes for either the cookie or brownie portion of the recipe, by all means, it would work just as well if not better! 

Ingredients:
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups Nestle Toll House Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels 
  • 1 box Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie Mix
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup water

Cookie Layer Directions:

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large bowl until mixed thoroughly. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips. (As if you’re really only going to add in 2 cups.) Wrap and set in refrigerator or freezer until brownies are completely cooled and chilled. NOTE: Try to resist the urge to pick at it. <–Nearly impossible.

Brownie Layer Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9×9 inch pan with nonstick spray, and then line it with a strip of parchment paper so it covers the bottom of the pan and has extra flaps on the side. Spray the paper too. (Trust me, I’ve never been a fan of this method, but it helps a hell of a lot when it comes to this.) In a large bowl, sift the brownie mix. No need in dirtying another bowl, so in a measuring cup, add the water, vegetable oil, and 2 eggs. Break the yolks and then add into the brownie mix with an electric mixer or any utensil that you’re comfortable with. Pour mixture into the prepared pan. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until you can poke a tooth pick in the center and have it come out clean. Let it cool completely. You can put it into the fridge to speed this up.

Once it is completely cooled and then chilled, take your cookie batter. Its best if you spray your hands with cooking spray to prevent all the sticky batter from getting between your fingers and annoying the heck out of you. Spread the batter onto the brownie layer and knead lightly to make the top flat and look more uniform (Something I should have focused on more).Chill for an hour or two although overnight would be your best bet, it can be kept up to two days. Cut into as many pieces as you wish. (Personally, I got twelve huge pieces out of it) This is where you can get creative- you can add a chocolate frosting or syrup to the top, or sprinkle more chocolate morsels to garnish it, or just eat as is!  And there you go, lads! Until next time, bon appetit!

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

