Let’s Dance!

Good afternoon, lads! Welp, it happened. Saturday came and went. I woke up at ten o’clock after going to bed at around four thirty in the morning. I was working on my cake for almost half a week. Hell, I left a sweet sixteen the night before to work on it. Upon waking up, I had to witness my worst nightmare. It tilted. Now, with all cakes, they will slant just a bit. This was worse than just a bit. Mom came home and made a problem out of it. Anxiety took over. I stupidly put the third layer on it. At that point, it just tilted more. My mom came home and offered to go to the local bakery and pick up a back up cake. Things escalated where she continued to point out the flaws of the cake. Can you guess what happened next? Yes. I broke down. I threw a fit. Me. I was so disappointed and upset after days of working on this cake. The night before, it was the most precise beautiful cake I’ve ever iced, and now, it was dead. We put it in the refrigerator where it still lies. Mom went off to the bakery as I showered. In the shower, the tears were gone. I decided that there is a time for everything, and my crying time was done with. All I could do at that point was laugh. More cake for us right? I finished up on last minute things and got my hair done. I wasn’t use to pampering myself so you could imagine the uncomfortable feelings that came along with this. Fast forward two hours and we were at the venue. Set up, got dressed, and waited. I knew I didn’t want to be introduced in. I just waited for some friends to get there before I walked in non-chalont to greet family and friends. For anyone with an eating disorder, people who haven’t seen you in a while give you that “Oh my gosh are you sick? Because you look like you should be getting treatment.” kind of look. It’s rather comical as per seeing I am receiving help. Any who, the DJ played music that I fancy. (I.E. The Beatles, The Smith’s, Elvis, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Jopin, and everything in between) I asked him to balance it between modern and older music. We danced, we ate, we took pictures, we laughed. Amazingly, I can’t remember the last time I had this much fun; I honestly don’t even think I’ve ever had that much fun before. Sure, I lost my voice and my feet still hate me,but you know what? Those are my battle “wounds”. All my fears slowly drifted as time went on. All of it was well worth it. For the past two days, I’ve been sleeping until noon. As I repeat, it was well worth it! Until next time, eat, drink, and be merry, lads!

Leave a Reply

